I have worked on many open source products and many use my plugins. All my products are free except when a user needs some customization, I do charge for my work. Today morning I got an email from a web master as follows
Message:
Hi Kish
I think something has happened. I posted a project on getafreelancer for a Wordpress plugin and it seems the guy has rebranded your plug in and gave it to me. I just realised this now
http://www.linktothatsite (http://www.seotops.com/manage-multiple-wordpress-blogs-from-one-location-free-plugin-for-you_1111/)
He said he built this from scratch but is now giving it away. What shall I do as I paid $80 for this. Can I still distribute it?
This webmaster was enabling download to visitors who signup for news letter, but the download was free. I am very upset because the credits were removed. Working for days to get a plugin working is a lot of hard work and we do it expecting atleast we get some credit for our work. I had spend a lot of time on this plugin and somebody has sold this plugin and taken the credit. I had initially hosted the free download on my server and later hosted on the Wordpress Extension Directory. I request to the author Mr Musa Aykac to remove that page or aleast post a credit to my plugin page.
Do you think its fair to remove credits for open source scripts or products
/*
Plugin Name: Manage Multiple Wordpress Websites
Plugin URI: http://www.seotops.com
Description: Manage Multiple Wordpress Blogs from one Point.
Version:1.1
Author: Musa Aykac
Author URI: http://www.seotops.com
*//* Copyright 2009 Musa Aykac (email : musa_aykac@hotmail.co.uk)
This program is not a free software, ask me if you want to have this plugin
*/
I request the webmaster to need the needful ASAP and remove the download link from the site which is not at all ethical and justified
{ 2 comments… read them below or add one }
Hi Kishore,Debasis Here, I am web developer and a graphics designer, Sorry to know this….I also strongly Oppose such types of freak developers who believes in stealing others work and re-branding it in their names and selling them…Its really very bad and I will also help you in this case. If you permit me then I will copy the same post and publish it in my blog and I am getting good traffic to my blog so everybody will know about this guy and it will help others while dealing with the person.Waiting for your reply.I am ur big fan and I hv also added u in twitter as well as in facebook.waiting for ur reply. You can Mail me in given mail ID. I am always with you.Thanks,Regards,Debasis.
Debasis, thanks for your support, hope people realize these things soon